Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Department of Electrical Engineering and Computing Systems

The department of Electrical Engineering and Computing Systems at University of Cincinnati offers BS, MS, and PhD degrees in electrical engineering, computer engineering, electrical engineering technology, and computer science.
  • Training the next generation of students in Electrical Engineering and Computing Systems.
  • Our award-winning educators help students succeed.
  • Gain real-world experience while you get your degree.
  • Join us in creating the future today.
  • Network and socialize with other future technology leaders.
  • Learn and work in our high-tech facilities.


With the help of 43 full-time faculty members and 12 staff, our department is committed to provide high quality educational programs at Marc Cahaythe undergraduate and graduate levels, in an environment fostering technological, economic, and social growth. Our current total enrollment is approximately 1850 students, including 1300 undergraduate and 550 graduate students.

The EECS Department offers wide variety of degree and research opportunities in the areas of Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Electrical Engineering Technology.

We look forward to discussing these opportunities with you.


UC researcher celebrated for reuse in software product lines

UC associate professor Nan Niu receives Most Influential Paper Award for impact in reusable assets.
Read more:

Jason HeikenfeldProfessor Wins Technology Commercialization Award for Biosensor

UC's Jason Heikenfeld developed a non-invasive biosensor that stimulates sweat even when the patient is cool or resting.
Read more:

Rashmi JhaUC Researcher Resets Data Storage

Dr. Rashmi Jha, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, lead PI on NSF-funded research that will enable massive data storage with reduced power consumption and increased complexity of computing tasks performed by a number of devices, ranging from smartphones, big data analytics, Internet-of-Things, wearable electronics, assistive devices, cybersecurity to weather tracking systems.
Read more:

Chinese coop studentsUC Welcomes China's first co-op students

The University of Cincinnati invented the work-study model of cooperative education more than a century ago. Now UC is introducing co-op to China in a unique partnership.
Read more:

Boolchand All Faculty Award Picture Professor Punit Boolchand named 2017 Distinguished Research Professor

Professor Punit Boolchand won the all University award for Distinguished Research Professor for his work in creating Gorilla Glass.
Read more:

Famous Microphone A look back at the UC alumnus and inventor who gave the world its most famous microphone

Benjamin Bauer left his fingerprints on some of the most powerful and fascinating moments in modern world history.
Read more:


EECS announces new faculty member Boyand Wang Doctor Wang will joining us in the Fall of 2017. He will work in the areas of Cyber Security and crytography.

EECS will be changing the department name to Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. This change will be effective August 15, 2017.

EECS is proud to welcome two new professors for Fall 2016: Dr's. Shomir Wilson, and Gowtham Atluri.

EECS welcomes three new faculty members for the fall semester: Rashmi Jha, Yue Cui, and Je-Hyeong Bahk.

EECS welcomes recent University of Dayton graduate Jason (Jay) Heyl as an Instrumentation Specialist. He will be responsible for assisting students utilizing the Electronics Laboratories.

Congrats to Daniel Griffin, winner of a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, the most prestigious undergraduate award given in the sciences!

$3 Million Donation Establishes Scholarship Program. Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor in the form of a $3 million gift, UC has established the Mantei/Mae Award scholarship program for undergraduate students in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computing Systems.

Roger Kirschner, EECS Senior Instrumentation Specialist, received the 2014 McCormick Distinguished Staff Award for his dedication and consistently going above and beyond ordinary job duties.

EECS Professors Heikenfeld and Steckl Rank in Ohio's Top 25 STEM Professors. Drs. Jason Heikenfeld and Andrew Steckl are now ranked in Ohio's Top 25 STEM Professors.

Yuguang Liu, from the BioMicroSystems Lab, was awarded the 2014 Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid of Research (GIAR) grant. The Sigma Xi GIAR program has a highly competitive application process and only approximately 20% of applicants receive any level of funding.

Dr. Jason Heikenfeld named to National Academy of Inventors NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to those who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation.

Congratulations to Dr. Marc Cahay for being recognized as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.